Birthday Celebration Prior to the Covid-19 Era

Prior to what I refer to as the Covid-19 era, I celebrated my birthday with my significant other at a delicious French restaurant in Northvale, NJ called Madeleine’s Petit Paris. The last time I dined at a French restaurant was when I was in Canada in 2009.We had a very accommodating waitress who offered us tastings of two different wines to help us make a decision. We decided on a lovely bottle of Bordeaux.After a long look at the menu, I decided to order off the pre-fix menu. I ordered a fresh house salad for my appetizer.My significant other chose to order off the regular menu and decided on the Escargots Cafe de Paris in a garlic herb butter sauce and the baby spinach salad with poached pears. It came with a light white wine vinaigrette dressing.In between our appetizer and entree, we were served sorbet to cleanse our palettes. As an entree I ordered the Skirt Steak Cafe de Paris.  The dish was served with garlic butter herb sauce and pome frites. It was garnished with rosemary.It was so delicious and flavorful. The steak was cooked at a perfect medium.  Fries were crispy.My other half ordered a lamb chop special that came with a side of potatoes au gratin, string beans, and fennel.The potatoes au gratin were the best we both have ever had. The lamb chops were cooked to perfection. I ordered the souffle for two as my dessert. We had a choice between two flavors: grand marnier or chocolate. We chose grand marnier. They also provided fruit with whipped cream and a candle and sang happy birthday.The souffle was incredible. Oh my God. It had a faint orange flavor and was extremely light.This was such a beautiful evening with dresses, heels, delicious French food and a fabulous Bordeaux.Madeleine’s Petit Paris is located at 416 Tappan Road
Northvale, NJ
https://madeleinespetitparis.com/

Leave a comment